Turkey Meatballs

Who doesn’t love spaghetti?  My daughter, that’s who.  I have never heard of a 14 month old who wouldn’t eat any noodle of any kind (that’s right, no mac and cheese for us) but of course my daughter is the exception to the rule.  But spaghetti has been a staple of our diet since our college days and it is a quick, easy, and cheap (check out Target’s coupons, they often have $1 off if you buy Market Pantry pasta and sauce, which makes them about $.50 a piece!) meal.  We usually have spaghetti twice a month and the only way I can get Cora to eat any is by making meatballs.  Not to mention they are delicious.

When I was pregnant with Cora my sister made me a bunch of meatballs to freeze and I had to have the recipe.  These meatballs are based off of this recipe but I’ve tweaked it a little for our tastes.  The original recipe calls for red pepper flakes and Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, but I found that they made the meatballs too spicy for my little’s taste buds, so I have omitted those ingredients.  We also don’t eat much red meat at our house, so I use ground turkey in my meatballs instead of ground beef.  Feel free to use whichever you prefer.  So without further ado, here’s the best meatball recipe every:

Turkey Meatballs

Image

Ingredients

1 pound extra lean ground turkey

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 small onion, diced

1/2 teaspoon garlic salt

1 1/2 teaspoons Italian seasoning

3/4 teaspoon dried oregano

1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup skim milk

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Chop 1/2 an onion finely.

Image

Next break up your ground meat into a mixing bowl.

Image

Next add the chopped onion, salt, garlic salt, Italian seasoning, oregano, and Worcestershire sauce to the meat and mix well.

Image

Add the milk, Parmesan cheese, and breadcrumbs and mix well.

Image

Once all the ingredients are well mixed, roll out into 1 1/2 inch balls.  I like the line my baking sheet with nonstick foil, it makes clean up so much easier.  If you don’t use foil, coat your pan with cooking spray first.  This recipe will make 24-28 meatballs depending on the size.

Image

Pop those in your preheated oven for 20-25 minutes until they are browned on the outside.

Image

Voila, you are done!  I generally make these on a weekend and freeze them all once they are cooled.  We usually have spaghetti twice a month on days we are going to busy.  This recipe makes enough for two dinners for our family of three so when I’m ready to make dinner I take out however many meatballs I need for dinner and put them in a saucepan with spaghetti sauce to heat them up.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

