Pretty Fall Wreath

Image

I have been seeing these pretty yarn wrapped wreaths all over Pinterest, so I decided I needed to make one for my door.  I decided to go with fall colors because I don’t have anything to hang on my door for Thanksgiving.  Let’s get started!

I bought a straw wreath and left the plastic wrap on because neither Hobby Lobby or Joann had styrofoam wreaths the right size.  I have heard Michael’s has them, I just didn’t get a chance to get out to Michael’s because there isn’t one close to me.  I think using a styrofoam wreath would be easier because the yarn would wrap more consistently, so if you find one I would recommend getting it.  If not, the straw worked just fine, just a little bit more finicky on getting the yarn to wrap consistently.

Image

First you need a wreath and yarn.

Image

Loop the yarn around the wreath and tie a knot.  You can trim the tail if you want but you don’t have to.  We’re going to wrap the tail inside of the yarn.

Image

Start wrapping.  Just a warning, you will be doing this for a while.  I had to take several breaks, but even without the breaks it took me about 2.5 hours to wrap the whole wreath.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Image

Hot glue the end of the yarn once you finish wrapping.  If you’re using a straw wreath, be sure you don’t put the hot glue on the plastic, it might melt.  As you can see in this picture there are little gaps in the yarn.  You can shift your yarn around to fill in those spaces, or you may have to wrap a few extra times around those places.

Image

Yay, you’re finished wrapping!  Now onto the felt flowers.  I use a wool blend felt I got from Etsy, but you can also use the cheaper felt you find at craft stores.  You can use any kind of felt flower that you like to make.  I like these round ones, but it’s totally up to you.  I’ll show you how to make the round ones.

Image

Start off with a circle.  It doesn’t have to be perfect, in fact the more organic the shape, the more interesting flower you will end up with.  The bigger the circle, the bigger the flower will end up being.

Image

Start cutting the circle into a spiral.

Image

And here is how it will look when you get to the middle of the circle.

Image

Starting rolling the pointy end into a spiral.

Image

Once you roll the whole flower up, hot glue the round end onto the bottom of the flower.

Image

Here’s the finished flower from the front.  Make as many of these as you want to put on your wreath.

Image

Once you have finished making your flowers, arrange them on a piece of felt.  I originally tried to hot glue the flowers straight onto the wreath, but that didn’t work because the flowers weren’t all on the same plane.  Gluing them to the felt first worked much better for me.  After you arrange them on the felt hot glue them into place.

Image

Then cut the backing felt around the flowers.  You will want to trim the felt in as far as you can so that it isn’t visible once you put it on the wreath.  After you have trimmed the backing, hot glue the flowers onto your wreath.  And then you’re finished!  Hang and admire!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

