Felt Flowers Headband

Image

So on Thursday I realized Thanksgiving is mere week away, yikes!  I hadn’t started on making Cora’s Thanksgiving outfit at all, so I decided that was my mission this weekend to get her dress and headband finished before I had to start thinking about any cooking.  I love love love felt flower headbands.  I think they are so dainty and they can be worn with a dressy dress or an everyday outfit.  So here’s how I made this one to match Cora’s brown chevron Thanksgiving dress (coming soon!).

To make the dark purple flower you will start with a circle and four flower shapes (oops there are five in the picture, just ignore one for now!)

Image

Place a dot of hot glue in the center of one flower and fold in half like so:Image

Place another dot of glue in the middle along the bottom and fold in half again.

Image

Put hot glue on one side and glue to the circle.

Image

Do this for the remaining three flower shapes.

Image

Now cut three more flowers, these should be slightly smaller than the first flowers (remember that one I told you to ignore?  He got trimmed down a bit and we’re going to use him now).

Image

Glue two of the flowers in half.

Image

Glue them on top of the folded pieces with the long sides touching.

Image

Fold your last flower shape in quarters and glue in the center of the flower.

Image

And you’re finished with one flower, woohoo!  Two more to go!

Next we’ll be doing the light pink flower.  Start with a circle.

Image

Cut a spiral and then scallop the edges of the spiral.  Don’t worry about it being perfect.  I tell my students all the time that their artwork will never look exactly like mine or anyone else’s and that is okay.  You will never find two flowers that look exactly alike, so don’t stress about getting your flower perfect.  Mine definitely is not!

Image

Now you’re going to roll the spiral starting with the pointy end and hot glue the circular end on the bottom of the flower.  Okay, bad blogger moment, I forgot to take a picture of gluing the bottom.  But you can see how I did it on my fall wreath tutorial, which is also where you find how to make the brown flower.

Cut out two circles to be the base for the flowers and leaves if you would like.  I used embroidery floss to create the detail stitching around my leaves, but that’s totally optional.  Cut your elastic to the length needed. My daughter’s head is 17″ so I cut my elastic to 16.5″ to allow for overlapping when I sewed the two ends of the elastic together.  Now we’re ready to assemble the headband.

Image

First test out the placement of your flowers and leaves on one of the backing pieces.  Once you are happy, hot glue each piece to the back.

Image

Sew your elastic together.  I just hand sewed it since I was using skinny elastic.  Then spread glue all over the backing, lay your elastic in place, then put the other circle back on top of the glue.

Image

And you’re finished!  Aren’t you excited?  I know I was, too bad Ms. Cora is sleeping, I can’t wait to try it on her!

Image

Image

Image

One thought on “Felt Flowers Headband

Leave a Reply

