Sailboat Baby Toy

I hope everyone had a fabulous Thanksgiving and Black Friday shopping trip!  I braved the stores, but didn’t go out until 10 a.m. this morning, so it wasn’t too crazy.  Now that I’ve shopped until I dropped it’s time to get craftin!  I’m still working on the shower gift for a coworker who is having twin boys.  Her shower is next Friday and I have just one more blanket to make.  I’ve had so much fun making cute baby boy stuff!  I found this really cute tutorial on how to make a sailboat toy for a baby.  This is a great project for using up scrap pieces of fabric or ribbon.  Plus babies are fascinated with playing with tags.  My mom made Cora a cute little blankie with ribbon tags all around it and she loved it.  Here’s how I made my sailboats.

I cut out my pattern on blank paper.  The sails are right triangles that are 4.5″ x 6″ and the bottom of the boat is a trapezoid that is 5″ long on the bottom, 9″ long on the top, and 3.5″ tall.

Next cut out your fabric.  You will need two pieces of fabric for each pattern piece.  You can also go ahead and cut your ribbon, or wait until it’s time to sew the ribbon in.

First sew two sail pieces (I started with the boat and the red fabrics) along the long vertical edge with right sides of the fabric together.  Do this with the other two sail pieces.  Open the sails and press the seams.

Next lay your sails on top of each trapezoid with the right sides facing each other.  Sew along the 9″ edge, the press open the seams.

Next pin the two pieces together with right sides facing each other.  Don’t forget when pinning your ribbons to make the loops face inward (I’ve made this mistake a couple times not paying attention, then had to rip the thread out and start over).

Sew around the edges leaving an opening at the bottom of the boat.

Turn the boat right side out and press.

Stuff with filling and slip stitch the opening shut and you’ve got an adorable baby toy!

Leave a Reply

