Homemade Laundry Detergent

DSC_0557

I don’t know about you all, but when I would shop for laundry detergent, I often wondered why it was so darn expensive.  Then after having a baby and cloth diapering, we REALLY started going through detergent quickly.  When I started using Nellie’s All Natural Laundry Soda on our cloth diapers, I loved it and was using it on everything.  But it’s a little pricey and I haven’t found anywhere in town that sells it, so I decided it was time to look for something else (for everything but the diapers).  So of course I had to turn to Pinterest.  All you need to make your own laundry detergent are these three items: Arm and Hammer Washing Soda (not baking soda!!), Borax, and Fels-Naptha soap.  I looked for Fels-Naptha at Target but mine didn’t have it.  Luckily my Kroger did, so that’s where I get it from when I’m ready to make a new batch or two.

First grate the soap with a grater.

DSC_0558

 

Next mix in 1 cup of the washing soda and 1 cup Borax.

DSC_0559

 

In order to mix the soap flakes with the powders well, I put it in the blender.  I do this in parts because the first time I did it, I put all of it in the blender and overheated the blender, oops. So I would recommend doing it in parts.  After blending put it a container and use 1 tablespoon per load.  Sometimes if it’s big load I put two scoops in.

DSC_0560

This recipe with make enough detergent for approximately 64 loads.  After the first time I made this detergent I wanted to figure out how much I was spending per load versus the Nellie’s.  I paid $3.15 for the washing soda, $3.99 for the Borax and $1.19 for the Fels-Naptha.  I estimated that I could get four batches out of each the washing soda and the Borax.  So it came up to $2.98/batch and $.05/load of laundry.  The Nellie’s is approximatly $17 (including shipping) for 100 loads, making it $.17/load.  That’s a pretty big savings!  I still buy my trusty Nellie’s for my cloth diapers, but for the rest of our laundry I love this homemade detergent, and so does my checking account!

Leave a Reply

