Breakfast Casserole

DSC_0647

 

I hope everyone had a great weekend!  We had a good weekend relaxing at home mostly, but today I’m home with a sick baby 😦  She is getting caught up on some sleep, so I thought I would make a post about this yummy breakfast casserole I made yesterday morning.  I got this recipe from a friend of mine and it is a big favorite at my house.  The best part is there is plenty left over, so we get to eat on it for a few days!

Recipe

1 can crescent rolls

1 roll breakfast sausage

12 eggs

A splash of milk

1/2 cup red pepper

1/2 cup green pepper

1 handful spinach

 

First cut up your vegetables.  You can add whatever veggies you like, I usually do green and red peppers and spinach (I don’t cut up my spinach, just the peppers).  I think mushrooms would be good in this, but I’m the only one who likes mushrooms at our house.

DSC_0637

 

Then spray your 9×13 pan with nonstick spray and lay out your crescent rolls flat on the bottom.  You can also buy the crescent roll sheet instead, but if I buy my groceries at Target that week, they don’t have the sheets.  Either one works fine.

DSC_0639

 

 

Next, crumble and brown your sausage in a skillet.

DSC_0638

 

Once the sausage is done, spread it evenly over the crescent rolls.

DSC_0640

 

Melt some butter in a new skillet, and once the butter is melted, add the spinach.  Saute until wilted.

DSC_0641

 

Next crack a dozen eggs into a bowl.

DSC_0643

 

Add a splash of milk to the eggs.  I don’t ever measure this, I just wing it.  Mix the eggs and milk together, then stir in the peppers and spinach.  Be sure to lift the spinach out of the pan with a fork, you don’t want the buttery juice going in there.

DSC_0644

 

Pour egg mixture over the sausage and crescent rolls.  You may have to spread out the spinach so that it’s evenly distributed.

DSC_0645

 

Bake at 400 degrees for 30-35 minutes until the eggs are set.  You could also add salsa or cheese to this casserole, and it would be delicious!  My husband loves to put Cholula on his (I’m not a hot sauce fan).  Enjoy!

DSC_0646

 

DSC_0649

One thought on “Breakfast Casserole

Leave a Reply

