15 Christmas Crafts Under $15: Project 3, Decorative Apothecary Jar

DSC_0691

 

I love apothecary jars, I think there is something so classic about them.  They are so versatile and can be used for any season.  I bought this big one for Cora’s first birthday party this past summer.  The theme was The Very Hungry Caterpillar and on the dessert table I set up a display with each of the fruits the caterpillar eats and I used this big apothecary jar for the oranges.  And since then I’ve been using it to decorate with.  This fall I filled it with hedge apples and pine cones, and now I have made a Christmas display in it.  I used dollar store ornaments, scented pine cones from Joann (this part could easily be free if you have any pine trees around you), and epsom salt.  You can use any kind of glass jar or vase to make your display.  I got this one from Marshall’s for $9.99 but Hobby Lobby usually has some pretty ones and they put their glass 50% off pretty often.  I didn’t count the cost of the apothecary jar since I already had it, but they are relatively inexpensive.  My cost for this project was $1 for the ornaments (I mixed and matched my ornaments from a bunch I bought at the dollar store, but I used about as many as were in a package), $3 for the pinecones, and I already had the epsom salt, but I think it’s generally around $1.50.  So my total was $4!  This is a really simple, easy to throw together Christmas decoration!

DSC_0693

 

 

DSC_0694  DSC_06932

DSC_0692

Leave a Reply

