15 Christmas Crafts Under $15: Project 7, Felt Ornaments

DSC_0739

 

When my husband and I got our first tree I bought a bunch of light green and red ornaments from Target that came in big packages and were pretty generic.  They were great for the first few years, but as we’re getting older and our family is expanding, we have started to get more personal ornaments.  As much as I like the matchiness (yes, I just made up a word) of the green and red ornaments, the other ornaments had meanings for us that those cheap, unbreakable ones from Target did not.  Each year I replace a few of the old ones with new ones that give our tree it’s own personality.  Now that we have a toddler, I decided our tree needed some more toddler friendly homemade ornaments.  I love the way felt ornaments look, and they aren’t breakable, a big plus in my book!  They’re also really easy and cheap to make!  I used felt scraps I already had, and I already had the red and green grosgrain ribbon.  I bought the red and gold ric rac and the blue ribbon at Joann for $.89 each (70% off Christmas ribbon!), so the grand total for this project was $1.78!  I sewed my felt ornaments, but you could just as easily use hot glue them if you’re not into sewing.

DSC_0738

 

DSC_0740

 

DSC_0741

Leave a Reply

