15 Christmas Crafts Under $15: Project 8, Homemade Snowglobe

DSC_0755

Christmas is getting closer!  I am so excited about this project because I love mason jars of any kind.  So here is a tutorial for a homemade snowglobe in a mason jar.  Here’s what you need:

Glass jar

Miniature tree or figurine

E6000 glue or crazy glue

Distilled water

Glycerin

Glitter

The tutorial I had seen online for a snowglobe said that you could find glycerin at Walgreen’s, CVS, etc.  So I looked at several drug stores, Kroger and Target for glycerin and every place I looked I got a crazy look when I asked for glycerin.  They said “what’s that?”  I thought I was going to have to give up on my snowglobe, until I happened to read that glycerin is also used in baking.  So I looked at Hobby Lobby, and lo and behold there is was, and for a lot cheaper than Amazon or CVS’s website was selling it for.  So my suggestion would be look in the baking aisle at a craft store, you’re more likely to find it there than a drug store.

First you  need to glue your tree or figure to the lid of the jar.  I used E6000 glue, but you could also use crazy glue if you already have that.  Let the glue sit for 24 hours (I wouldn’t rush this step since the glue will be submerged in water you want to make sure it is good and tight).  I got my miniature tree from the Dollar Tree and I didn’t notice until after I got home how crooked they were, so look for the straightest trees you can find.

DSC_0737

After the glue has set for 24 hours, fill up your jar with distilled water, add a dash of glycerin and some glitter.  You know that frustrating feeling when you know you have something, but just can not find it?  I had that feeling with this project.  I know I have white glitter somewhere in the disaster zone that is my crafting area, but I couldn’t find it.  So I ended up using pink.  I like how it turned out, so it was fine I couldn’t find the white, but man was it frustrating.  Once you have added the water, glycerin, and glitter to the jar, insert the tree and screw on the ring.  I ended up having to add some more water to my snowglobe because there was a big gap at the top.  I was afraid it would overflow when I inserted the tree, so I added a little at a time.

My daughter really loved watching the glitter drift down to the bottom.  She really wanted to do it herself, but mommy supervised with this one, I did not want to spend my evening cleaning glitter up off the floor!

For this project I spent $.99 on glitter, $1.49 on the glass jar, $.50 on the tree, $1.49 on the glycerin, and $.89 on the distilled water.  So the grand total for this adorable homemade snowglobe was $5.36.  I think these would make awesome gifts, and you could make tons of snowglobes out of one bottle of distilled water and glycerin!

DSC_0756

DSC_0753

 

DSC_0754

Leave a Reply

